Gaming on Ubuntu 12.04: a new era for the third most popular OS

Humble Indie bundle on Ubuntu

Ubuntu is now considered as the third most popular operating system after Windows and Mac OS. With it’s 12.04 release, this libre OS marks a new era as a potential gaming platform for the foreseeable future.

We saw at the Ubuntu Developer Summit some great and big names like EA Games (watch best videos here). The best part was yet to happen… With the release of Humble Indie Bundle 5, Ubuntu’s Software Center (USC) caught the immediate attention of the fifth bundle release and it is now available through the software center.

Thanks to a friends gift (Bill Niakas) I was able to download and install the bundle through USC and see how well it will proceed. Even though I was warned by the Humble Indie Bundle:

Notes: As these games have been recently added to Ubuntu Software Center it might take a minute for them to appear. If you see a “Not found” message, Ubuntu Software Center is working in the background to update the list of available apps.

  I had no problem at all. The procedure was easy-peasy and just a click away :

To install the app once Ubuntu Software Center has opened click on the “Buy…” button, don’t worry you won’t be charged for it.

Ubuntu software center indie games

After clicking the game, USC was launched and automatically started installing the games, once I clicked “Buy” and logged in with my Ubuntu account.

The bug “Not found that may affect many users was addressed with the release of and Update through the update manager so if you are affected you should check and install the latest updates.

 Ubuntu Update manager fix

Gaming on Ubuntu

I have installed iQunix 12.04 – 64bit (Ubuntu LTS derivative) boost with Optimus Kernel as my primary OS and now it is also becoming my casual gaming platform. Even though I don’t play any games that are mainstream, I do consider that this may change this year with titles that will eventually become available on Ubuntu. I have also downloaded Desura (Steam alternative) and redeemed a previous Huble indie bundle.

The following image may not be the last that we will be talking about from now on. Games are coming … just waiting to add Steam for Linux to the following picture:

Desura and Humble indie bundle Ubuntu
Desura and Humble Indie Bundle games on Ubuntu… waiting for Steam

Please read:

8 Comments

  1. Seems that the OS battle is warming up again !!! Stay tuned for some greate changes, i think the steam client will boost the linux popularity among casual and hardcore gamers and will draw more attention to the indie software market . I want to see what the big studios will do with their number one hits after this !!!

    Like

    1. True.
      As one of the lead enginniers of EA said “… users just want to play their games everywere thay can.. tablet, smarthphone, PC, web, … they don’t care about platform” so this is the reason why more and more games wiil be available on many platforms.

      Like

  2. Hello I am so grateful I found your blog, I really found you by error, while
    I was looking on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all
    round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have
    saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please
    do keep up the superb jo.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.